The short answer: It Depends
In Scholastica, decisions are really designed to be the final (and unchanging) step in the review process. Once a decision has been made on whether or not to publish a manuscript (or ask for a revised and resubmitted version of the manuscript), and if you've chosen to send the decision immediately, the author is alerted of the decision and given access to read the text of the decision. In this case, the decision can not be changed.
If you have chosen to delay sending the decision by 2 to 5 days, you do have the option of deleting the decision before the author has been alerted.
How to delay a decisionFollow all of the steps to make a decision and prior to clicking "Submit Decision" choose to delay the decision notification via the drop down menu, by 2 or 5 days.
How to delete the decision prior to the notification being sent to the author
- From the Manuscript Worktable click "Read Decision"
- At the top of the screen you will see a banner that allows you to delete the decision before it is sent (Note: this cannot be undone)
- Once you delete the decision, you can make another decision
To learn more about being an editor, check out our Editor Guide.